top of page
Kristina Ramirez Jordan

New Year, New Try




I know that I have not written in over a year, because I have let the cares of this world get in the way. Each year starts so fresh and new, like a clean slate, but as the year goes along things can sometimes take twists and turns that we are not expecting and may not necessarily be welcomed. Ever since an unexpected back surgery in late 2010 that also resulted in the loss of my job and the need to go on permanent disability, I have suffered different stages of mobility and pain. This past year, I began having some difficulty with my right hip and knee. Sometimes they would just plain give out on me and cause me to fall. I started having trouble having enough strength to lift my leg and that would cause me to fall. This has caused me to need more medical visits and tests to see if there is need for another surgery. The worry of this and even the financial implications associated with this, being on a fixed income, took more of my thoughts than I had realized. But just as the New Year brings it freshness and hope for something better in this year, God allows us the grace to begin again. He has been showing me, with my limited mobility, how to "be still and know that I am God". I have been able to see Him in some everyday things and everyday ways that I never would have if I had been going along in the hectic way that I was before all these things that have happened. Romans 8:28 says that all things work together for good to them that love Him and are called according to His purpose. I never would have thought that surgery, losing a job and then having more mobility problems would help me see Him in a different light, but they have.

I would like to take this next year to write about the ways that God reveals himself in those everyday things and ways when I take the time to be still and know.

I want to say thank you to those who join me on this journey. May the Lord reveal Himself to you through these writings, and let you draw close to Him as you too be still and know.

bottom of page