top of page
Kristina Ramirez Jordan

Disagree






“ If both of us are exactly the same, then one of us is unnecessary.” I heard this at a Mary Kay Conference one time, and possibly even from a speech by Mary Kay herself.

To disagree is not always a bad thing. I more or less had to learn this the hard way. I never really saw my parents argue or have a disagreement in front of us children, so the first time my husband and I had a disagreement, I didn’t know how to handle it. Because we didn’t know how to resolve a disagreement, we let each disagreement fester to anger and finally it ended up destroying our marriage.

When we disagree with someone, we are each expressing our own opinion, which is given to us by God. It doesn’t mean that one or the other is wrong or right, only that we are seeing things in a situation from different perspectives. If we do not realize this, and enter into the disagreement with the opinion that we are the only one that is correct, then we will certainly have conflict.

We need instead, to come together and pray about the matter of disagreement, and then discuss the situation in an attitude of openness to each other’s perspective and opinion and try to come to the best conclusion, whether that be your way, their way, or a mutual compromise that benefits everyone involved.

Kommentare


bottom of page