top of page
Kristina Ramirez Jordan

The Wasp


Photo by Ingemar Johnsson


One day as I was leaving work, I went to check the mailbox, and as I did I saw a wasp sitting on one of the wooden beams of the post that held the mailbox up. I watched him try to work and get some kind of nectar out of the wood. Thankfully, he was so busy that he didn't even notice me checking the mail. He was still there when I got in my car to leave. I don't know if he was able to get anything at all out of the piece of post that had been cut, dried, shaped, and then shipped to a store, then purchased and put in the ground to hold the mailbox at the church, but even if he did it could not have been very much. As I watched him, God told me to write down the little picture I had of this wasp in my mind and I knew if he told me to write it down, that he would give me something to use in a spiritual way in His time.

Like that wasp, we go to the wrong source for our needs. We look to the world, and all the programs and organizations they have to help keep people fed, healthy, and informed about what is going on in the world today. These kind of organizations are all well and good, and do their best to accomplish their objectives, but the Bible tells us in Matthew 6:33, "But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and all these things will be add unto you." We should be going to God in prayer first, before we go to anyone or anything else to meet our needs. Only God knows what is best for us, and what is the best way to provide for us to bring glory to His name.

So don't be like that wasp, trying to get nourishment out of an old dead post. Look to God to provide all your needs. (He never said our want, but our needs.)



Comments


bottom of page